Tuesday, April 22, 2014

Four new books based on original Star Wars film trilogy being released

Four books based on the original Star Wars film trilogy will be released starting in October 2014, according to Disney Publishing Worldwide.

Bestselling children's authors Tom Angleberger, Tony DiTerlizzi, Adam Gidwitz and R.J. Palacio will each write one of the books with a multi-arc storyline, leading up to the Star Wars: Episode VII in December 2015.

"We continue to explore ways to introduce new fans to Star Wars," Carol Roeder, director of Lucasfilm Franchise Publishing, Disney Publishing Worldwide said on starwars.com. "By publishing dynamic interpretations of classic saga stories written by authors who speak directly to this generation, we will give young readers a great entry point into this universe."

The Adventures of Luke Skywalker, Jedi Knight, a picture book written by Tony DiTerlizzi (The Spiderwick Chronicles) will be the first book, illustrated with concept art created by Ralph McQuarrie

Star Wars: A New Hope by R.J. Palacio (Wonder) will follow with Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back by Adam Gidwitz (A Tale Dark and Grimm) and Star Wars: Return of the Jedi by Tom Angleberger (Origami Yoda series).

Post a Comment